Allocating Unwanted Seats for PPBM

From the seat allocation, we can see that PKR, Amanah and DAP gave PPBM contesting seats that they failed to take over in the past. The three parties maintained their winning seats to themselves.



48 out of 52 seats that PPBM contested in PRU-14 were held by BN, while only 4 were under PAS. Although Amanah contesting seats was greatly reduced, the party actually doesn’t lose much. Amanah did not give out any of their incumbent seats to PPBM. PAS territories that PPBM tried to enter are Tumpat, Bachok, Pasir Putih and Bukit Gantang. As the result shows, PPBM failed to penetrate into any of those districts.


PKR, DAP and Amanah were the one benefited from the seats allocation. Prior to the election, Mahathir, Mukhriz and Muhyiddin have high chance of winning Langkawi, Jerlun and Pagoh respectively. To make satisfy PPBM, they gave the party a high amount of contesting seats which does not affect them.


Taking a look at the seat allocation in Selangor, there were only five MP seats that Pakatan Rakyat failed to take over in PRU-13. They are Sabak Bernam, Sungai Besar, Hulu Selangor, Tanjung Karang and Kuala Selangor. All of them were held by BN.


PKR selected Hulu Selangor, while Amanah picked Kuala Selangor. Both of the seats were once held by PKR and PAS in 2008. Meanwhile, Sabak Bernam, Tanjong Karang and Sungai Besar were never penetrated by Pakatan. Those three seats were given to PPBM. This shows that both PKR and Amanah gave PPBM seats that they are not confident in winning, and yet, with ex UMNO prominent figures support, PPBM still failed to reap the opportunity.