Two UPKO assemblymen left party to support PN

On June 15, two UPKO assemblymen in Sabah announced their resignation from the party to support the state opposition instead.


UPKO is a part of the ruling Sabah state government along with Warisan, DAP and PKR.



The two assemblymen who resigned from UPKO are James Ratib (Sugut) and Limus Jury (Kuala Penyu).


Despite their departure, the Warisan-led state government remain strong in the state legislative assembly with over two-third in majority, having 46 out of the 65 state seats.


Their departure might influence other assemblymen to follow their footsteps, but it would take another 14 assemblymen for the state government to change.


Nevertheless, the duo departure would diminish the strength UPKO, reducing its number of state seats from five to three.



About a week earlier, on June 9, former Sabah Chief Minister Tan Sri Musa Aman was acquitted from 46 charges of corruption and money laundering.


Then, it was speculated that the former Chief Minister of Sabah would make his return to politics.


Musa is currently the sole UMNO representative in the Sabah state legislative assembly, but was inactive due to being charge for corruption and money laundering.


Sabah Bersatu had also expressed their hope for Musa to return. Currently, the party has nine assemblymen, having the most state seats for Perikatan Nasional in Sabah.


The nine assemblymen from Sabah Bersatu are either a former member UMNO or UPKO.


James Ratib and Limus Jury said that they would be willing to corporate with former Sabah Chief Minister Tan Sri Musa Aman to make a comeback.